Meru County will this Sunday, 11th December, host the 10th edition of the 15km Safaricom Imenti South Road Race at Nkubu Stadium.

Over 700 athletes are expected to take part in this year’s event with last year’s winners, Pauline Njeru and Thomas James Lukomwa, among the participants. The event has attracted great interest from local athletes and those from various regions across the country, a pointer to its increasing role in the growth of professionally organised races at county level.

“As we celebrate ten years since the launch of this road race, I am glad that this event has lived up to its expectations. We have seen great athletes from this region represent Kenya in local and international meets. Their success is proof that this event is providing a platform for the county’s upcoming athletes to hone their skills as they chase athletic greatness,” said Local Organizing Committee Chairman Kimathi Mutuerandu.

The Safaricom Imenti Road Race has received a KES 1 million sponsorship from title sponsor Safaricom and will have six main categories including: 15km race for men and women, 6km and 8km cross-country for boys and girls, 4km boys, girls and veterans, 800m boys and girls and 1km VIP race.

Representing Safaricom at the event, Albert Mulei – H.O.D for Regional Operations in Mt. Kenya Region, noted that the South Imenti Road Race continues to be one of the key races not just in Meru, but as part of the Safaricom Athletics Series.

“We’re delighted with the progress that the organizers have made in the ten years since the event was first held, eight of which have been sponsored by Safaricom. We are proud to have been part of this success and are committed to continuing to support them in the coming years,” he said.

The Safaricom Imenti Road Race has produced a pool of athletes who have excelled both locally and internationally, including: Cyprian Kiogora, Lucy Karimi, Nancy Kathure, Betty Murungi, Esther Murugi, Dorothy Karimi, Timothy Kinoti, Alex Murithi, Stephen Mungathia, Kenneth Kimathi, Peter Mwololo, Monicah Muthoni, Daniel Mbogo, Elijah Mbogo, Monicah Wangari, Jedidah Wanjiru, Frashia Nyambura among others.

This year’s winners will receive prizes totaling over KES 520,000. The race will be flagged off at Mathiamene and end at Nkubu Stadium.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.