Nyandarua County is among the fourteen counties that spent nothing on development in the six months to December, hurting job creation and infrastructure projects in the devolved units.

Controller of Budget Agnes Odhiambo, in the half year report for the 2017/18 financial year, singled out Embu, Garissa, Kirinyaga, Kisumu, Meru, Nakuru, Nandi, Nyandarua and Nyeri as the affected counties.

Others are Siaya, Taita-Taveta, Tharaka-Nithi, Vihiga, and West Pokot.

Development spending is critical to building infrastructure like roads and sewerage and putting money in private hands through demand for raw materials, which ultimately creates new jobs.